15,000 Days

Have you ever thought about how many days you have left on this planet? I don’t mean that in a morbid or morose way. Just have you ever done the math? 

I have and based on my family history, my health, and my lifestyle choices, at best case I have just under 15,000 days left. 
15,000 sunrises to squint through on my way to work. (Yes, I probably will work till the end.) 15,000 sunsets to sigh over.  

Once I got over the shock of seeing the number it kind of invigorated me. Made me realize forever only exists in stories and that I’d better get off my lazy butt and start taking my writing as seriously as I’d like others to take it. 

Speaking of writing, if I only wrote 100 words a day that would amount to 1 & a half million, or 25 small novels. Terrifying, especially since I estimate I have another 7 practice novels to write before I figure out how this all works well enough to sell anything. 

So what do you think? Does having a number depress you or inspire you? 

3 thoughts on “15,000 Days

  1. mreedmccall

    My mind often works in similar ways (and some people I’ve known are quite uncomfortable about that, LOL). I’ve never tried to put a number on it, and I’m not sure it would inspire me to do more/write more…but contemplating “the end” has been part of my mental and emotional makeup since I can remember. Not in a morbid way, but in getting comfortable with the idea. My contemporary books, which are my latest venture (I’ve finished one and in the process of writing another) seem to have this as a theme, so I guess it’s finally coming to some fruition. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. ryliedal Post author

      I admire your calm. I’m still not comfortable with it. Thank you so much for the comment. I wish I had a prize for you, for being my first, but you’ll have to settle for my gratitude and the knowlege that you’ve made my day. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. mreedmccall

        Well, I’m still working on the comfort part…it’s still a work in progress. But My family was pretty matter-of-fact about it all (when I was a kid, we’d visit cemeteries just to enjoy the atmosphere, and my parents purchased their stone and plot in one not too far from our family’s “Homestead” when I was just a tyke…it’s a long story and part of the reason I had to write the first contemporary book, LOL). And I’m honored to have been your first comment! πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

